3 hours with a beginner

View previous topic View next topic Go down

3 hours with a beginner

Post  Ade on Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:15 pm

Hypothetically...

you've got a three hour seminar with a small class of complete beginners...or 3 one hour sessions with the same group.

where do you begin?

what do you teach them in this limited time frame?

and why these choices?

(personally i'd go with about 75% soft skills and the remainder would be 3-4 simple techniques,maybe palm fist elbow knee,drilled in different applications)
Ade
Admin

Number of posts : 2426
Registration date : 2006-08-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 3 hours with a beginner

Post  Socrates on Tue Nov 22, 2011 1:10 am

If they are really complete beginners, one technique done well should be enough...
Socrates

Number of posts : 1628

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  GOVINDA on Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:07 am

I would try three techniques, ending with putting them together, throw some scenario training in to keep them involved.....
GOVINDA

Number of posts : 201
Registration date : 2010-08-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  Ade on Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:11 am

Soc,Govinda,what techniques would you choose?
Ade
Admin

Number of posts : 2426

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  Socrates on Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:26 am

Power slap?
Socrates

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  GOVINDA on Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:57 am

For me the three basics of most Combatives, the slap, palm strike and hammer fist, or something based on them, leading to using all three in a combination, from the fence, as said a little bit of role play to keep them laughing, or as I have seen can be an eye opener to some ! Dialogue thrown in can be really useful, we actually use the whole, " what the fcuk are you looking at" or the "are looking at my girl" type stuff, resulting in an attack.......
GOVINDA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  theycallme-Sam on Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:50 am