your joints

View previous topic View next topic Go down

your joints

Post  Rob Mac on Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:57 am

Not the kind you roll, but what condition has all this pounding hard objects left your joints in Steve? I'm still not convinced by the need for this, but neverless interested in what toll it's taken on your body. Cheers Rob
Rob Mac

Number of posts : 1213
Registration date : 2006-08-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: your joints

Post  steve morris on Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:44 am

The heavy bag work, makiwara, brick-breaking etc. hasn't done any harm to my joints. That's me personally.

I do have some damage to my wrists, but that's as a result of two incidents when I broke them. I was a boy soldier when I broke the right wrist. I was running away from the police, jumped over what I thought was a low wall, but the drop on the other side turned out to be about 20 feet. I landed on my palm and broke the wrist.

The second incident happened when I was a regular soldier and I was too lazy to go round and use a gate on a perimeter fence. So I climbed the perimeter fence, which had barbed wire on top, jumped, and my boots got caught in the barbed wire. I did a vertical nosedive into hard ground and broke both wrists. Again, I'd landed on my palms.

For those who are fond of the palm heel as a weapon--maybe you can see why I'm not so convinced about it! I read a post once by Lito saying that because you naturally land on your palms, this makes the palm heel a strong tool. But it failed me! Now, I don't know if I'd landed on my fists what would have happened...probably drill a hole in the ground...

But anyway, as a result of those breaks, I developed some osteoarthritis as I got older. I aggravated this when I was in my fifties by clearing a two-acre wood with a blunt Welsh billhook.